Wespenstein castle

... experience the history during a guided tour by Dr. Wolfgang Wehr (Wespenstein castle foundation) or "Sir Henry" (Henry Bechtoldt).

... or see the museum
Georgstift in Gräfenthal city, which is open every Saturday and Sunday from 2:00 p.m. to 4.30p.m. and have a look at a model, old documents of the history of Gräfenthal.


short HISTORY:

Approx. 1250    build as a tollhouse

1337                 mentioned as „Hus Grevental” for the first time in a historical charter

to 1425             residence of the earls of Orlamünde (Otto XI in 1414-1424)

1438                 residence of the earl Conrad von Pappenheim




View in 1518



1517-1541       Conversion to a representative castle by Sebastian von Pappenheim






















1530               Martin Luther and the saxonian elector are guests

1547               Emperor Karl V. and duke Alba are guests

1571               errection of the helical tower „Wendelstein

1599               the last earl of Pappenheim - Christoff Ullrich - died

1621               residence of the dukes of Saxonia-Altenburg and a bailiff




View of 1672



1679             ownership of the dukes of Saxonia-Gotha



























1680             ownership of the dukes of Saxonia-Saalfeld and Coburg-Saalfeld

1686             the castle burnt down to a large extent and was only partly re-erected

1826             residence of a district court of the dukes of Saxonia-Meiningen


1826-1829     the castle obtains its last building extension

1920             ownership of the state of Thüringen

1990             ownership of the German state

1993             privately owned (Mr. Kenyeres)

2001             privately owned (sale by court order, Mr. Laass)

2002             privately owned (auction sale, Dr. Wehr and wife)


2005             privately owned (sale, Dr. Wehr)

2007             Schloß Wespenstein trust


   [Startseite]  [English]  [Adresse]  [Email an

last update: 24.01.14